Recognition in Sustainability

The Smeal Sustainability awards recognize extraordinary achievement and service in advancing Smeal's sustainability goals in teaching, research and outreach. 

For award guidelines, nomination process and selection timeline, please visit the following links:

Susman Sustainability Leadership Award

The annual Susman Sustainability Leadership Award recognizes exceptional leadership in the advancement of sustainable business strategy, management, and practice. Awardees can be internal or external to Smeal. 

The 2017 inaugural recipient of the award was presented to Gerry SusmanKlein Professor Emeritus of Management, director emeritus of the Center for Management of Technological and Organizational Change, and director emeritus of the Sustainability Council. 

“Gerry navigated our work from the early days of operational excellence to the current focus on strategy and innovation. We are shifting our focus to the business of sustainability by considering new and exciting approaches to business challenges that account for the social and environmental impact of decision making. This is possible because of the terrific foundation Gerry has created.”

Click here to read more about the inaugural Susman Sustainability Leadership Award.

Portrait of Suresh Muthulingam.

2018 Recipients of the Sustainability Faculty Award:

Suresh Muthulingam, Associate Professor of Supply Chain & Information Systems

2018 Student Sustainability Award Winners: Matthew Park, Matthew Morgan, Ryan Roach and Sophia Schuster, along with Erik Foley.

2018 Recipient of the Graduate Student Sustainability Award:

Ryan Roach and Sophia Schuster

2018 Recipient of the Undergraduate Student Sustainability Award:

Matthew Morgan and Matthew Park

Past Recipients

Undergraduate Student

  • 2018 - Matthew Park and Matthew Morgan
  • 2017 - Alec Raymond
  • 2016 – Dang Trinh
  • 2015 – Ethan Espina

Graduate Student

  • 2018 - Ryan Roach and Sophia Schuster
  • 2015 – David DeFelice


  • 2018 - Suresh Muthulingam
  • 2017 - Dan Guide and Terry Harrison
  • 2016 - Karen Winterich
  • 2015 - Ron Johnson


  • 2018 - Karen Serago
  • 2017 – Robin Stevens
  • 2016 – Christine Novinskie Olbrich
  • 2015 – JungEn Choi