Faculty Research Influence

The Management and Organization Department in the Smeal College of Business influences the field of management with their published materials.

The Management and Organization faculty has played a significant role in shaping the field of management through its published research. Here you will find a summary of the research awards our faculty has won.

Forrest Briscoe

Division of the Academy of Management, 2011
Above & Beyond the Call of Duty Award, Organization & Management Theory Division, Academy of Management, 2010 & 2011
Best Paper Award, Labor & Employment Relations Association, 2005 

Raghu Garud

Best Applied Conference Paper at the 2012 IACM Conference for paper on “Robust Collaboration at ATLAS, CERN” with Barbara Gray and Philipp Tuesrtscher, 2012

Denny Gioia

Fellow, Academy of Management
Distinguished PhD Alumni Award, Florida State University
Distinguished Scholar 2010 Managerial and Organizational Cognition Division, Academy of Management
Scholarly Contribution Award 2010 for the most significant paper published five years earlier in Administrative Science Quarterly (with Kevin Corley)

Don Hambrick

Distinguished Educator Award, Academy of Management Distinguished Scholar Award, Academy of Management
Honorary Doctorate, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Honorary Doctorate, University of Antwerp
Honorary Doctorate, University of Paris
Fellow, Academy of Management
Fellow, Strategic Management Society

Stephen Humphrey

Richard J. Lewis Quality of Excellence Award
Academy of Management Journal Best Paper Award, for: "Cooperation, competition and team performance: Towards a contingency approach", Finalist, August 2004.

Aparna Joshi

The Cummings Award for Early- to Mid-career Scholarly Achievement, Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management
Saroj Parasuraman Award for Best Published Paper in the Area of Diversity, Academy of Management Meeting, Montreal, Canada. Joshi, A., & Roh, H. 2009
Gender and Diversity in Organization's Best Paper Based on a Dissertation Award, Academy of Management. Joshi, A. 2001

Glen Kreiner

British Academy of Management Best Paper Award, Identity Special Interest Group, for "Tearing the fabric or weaving the tapestry? A discursive psychology approach to organizational identity work." British Academy of Management Meeting. 2015
Rosabeth Moss Kanter Award for Excellence in Work-Family Research, for our Academy of Management Journal  paper "Balancing borders and bridges: Negotiating the work-home interface via boundary work tactics" as the best publication in the area of work and family research for 2009. 2011
Owens Scholarly Achievement Award by the Society for Industrial & Organizational Psychology, recognizing our Academy of Management Journal paper "Balancing borders and bridges: Negotiating the work-home interface via boundary work tactics" as the best publication in the field of Industrial & Organizational Psychology during the year 2009. 2011.
Outstanding Publication in Organizational Behavior Award (for 2006 publication year), given annually by the Organizational Behavior Division at the Academy of Management to the publication deemed to have made the greatest contribution to the field of organizational behavior. Award received for Academy of Management Journal publication "Where is the 'Me" among the "We'? Identity work and the search for optimal balance." 2007
Best Paper Award, given annually by the Organizational Behavior Division for the outstanding submission to the Academy of Management Annual Meeting. “Boundary work tactics: Negotiating the work-home interface.” 2006


Vilmos Misangyi

Best Published Paper of 2008, International Association of Business and Society
Finalist, Best Paper Award of 2008, Organizational Research Methods Journal
Best Paper Award, 2004, Organization and Management Theory Division of the Academy of Management


Linda Trevino

Society for Business Ethics Lifetime Achievement Award for Scholarship, 2016
Best Paper Award, Academy of Management Learning and Education, 2007
Best Paper Award, Social Issues in Management Division, Academy of Management meeting, 2000, 1996
Best Paper Award, Academy of Management Review, 1993
Marcus Summer Award, Social Issues Division, Academy of Management
Fellow, Academy of Management