2016 Midwest Accounting Research Conference

Information on the 2016 Midwest Accounting Research Conference.

The 2016 Midwest Accounting Research Conference will be hosted by the Smeal College of Business Accounting Department at Penn State University.

The Conference will begin with lunch on Friday, June 10th and conclude with lunch on Saturday, June 11th. All meals and break refreshments will be provided, however, conference participants are responsible for their own travel and lodging expenses. 

2016 Midwest Accounting Research Conference Program

2016 Midwest Accounting Research Conference Participant List

Conference Presenters include:

  • Salman Arif, Indiana University - Bloomington

      The Influence of Mandatory Disclosure Regulation on Voluntary Disclosure: Financial Reporting Timeliness and the Rise of Concurrent Earnings Announcements

  • Jon Black, Purdue University

      The Association between SFAS No. 157 Fair Value Hierarchy Information and Conditional Accounting Conservatism

  • Jeremiah Green, Penn State University 

      Marketing and Hedge Fund Portfolio Constraints

  •  Laura Li, University of Illinois

      Behavior of Accrual Management and Performance of Discretionary Accrual Proxies

  • Wayne Nesbitt, Michigan State University

      Estimating the likelihood that a US multinational firm has cash trapped in foreign subsidiaries

  • Gaoqing Zhang, University of Minnesota

      Accounting Manipulation, Peer Pressure, and Internal Control

Accounting faculty and Ph.D. students from the schools listed below are invited. You may direct your questions to any of the faculty coordinators listed.

Coordinating Faculty MemberSchool
Rashad Abdel-khalik University of Illinois
Tyler Thomas University of Wisconsin
Mark Bagnoli Purdue University
Ramji Balakrishnan University of Iowa
John Hassell Indiana University - Indianapolis
Leslie Hodder Indiana University - Bloomington
Chris Hogan Michigan State University
Karl Muller Penn State University
Ram Ramanan Notre Dame University
Pervin Shroff University of Minnesota
Andrew Van Buskirk Ohio State University
Susan Watts Purdue University